Books: from February into April

With the bit of extra time I seem to have at the moment, I’ve found a couple of books that have been a good way to pass the time. Below are the ones I’ve finished. I still have my stack of non-fiction that my wee brain can take only in small portions. Some of these partly consumed books include: The Trouble with Physics by Lee Smolin, Rocket Men by Craig Nelson, The Poisoner’s Handbook by Deborah Blum, The Bedside Book of Algebra by Michael Willers, A Perfect Mess by Eric Abrahamson and David H. Freedman, Designers Don’t Read by Austin Howe, The Pluto Files by Neil deGrasse Tyson, and Bad Astronomy by Philip Plait.

Bridget Jones’s Diary – Helen Fielding: Very good read. I had a hard time separating what happened in the movie (which I’ve sadly watched too many times to count) and what was going on in the book. The book had more Bridget life tangents that the movie. I like the diary entry style the story is written in. I find that type format easy to read (Boy Meets Girl and Every Boy’s Got One by Meg Cabot are similarly written). I also found with this style it was easier to imagine Bridget as one of my friends telling me about her day and the crazy things that happened.

Got your number – Stephanie Bond: Another good read. The multiple mystery plots weren’t so easily solvable that I didn’t know who the true villains were until the end. The romantic plot lines were hopefully predictable. There was enough resistance by both heroines that there was a small chance they wouldn’t end up with the reader hoped-for suiters. A good book to leave the real world behind for a while.

Eat, Prey, Love – Kerrelyn Sparks: A paranormal romance novel. Not the book to read if you really want to exercise your brain. The plot moves along quickly and predictably (like most in this genre). I didn’t realize this book was set in an already established world. I now have to find the preceding five or six books to catch up on some of the characters’ stories.

Paranormalcy – Kiersten White: I listened to this as an audiobook. I might be too old for this type of fantasy novel (the Chapters/Indigo site recommends it for Teen 13-17) but it held my interest for the entire story. A good one to listen to while working because the story wasn’t overly complex; a single point of view from the heroine.

Death du Jour – Kathy Reichs: I liked the pace of this book compared to the first in the series, Déja Dead. Death du Jour kept adding more and more bodies everywhere Brennan went. I didn’t figure out how they were all connected until then end (but I did have my suspicions). Which usually makes for a good book.

Except the Dying – Maureen Jennings: Another one that I’ve watched the movies and Tv series before reading the book. Some of the actors and actresses from the movie did find their way into my mental image of each of the characters. I don’t remember being introduced to the killer during the investigation so when it is revealed, who it is kind of comes out of no where. It might be somewhere in the book and I don’t remember reading it. Or it might not have been mentioned. Either way, it was a good murder mystery.

Bayou Moon – Ilona Andrews: The second book in the “The Edge” series. I enjoyed this one a lot more than the first one. Not that On the Edge wasn’t good, just that Bayou Moon was a smidgen better. But it could be I like shape-changer protagonists better than extremely downtrodden magic users.

Lazarus – John Connolly: An eight page story about zombies in the book The New Dead. I don’t think I can say anything about this story without giving away too much of the action. And I don’t like giving away the ending of a story. I did enjoy how the story made me think about how events would be viewed from the undead’s point of view instead of the living’s.

The Britingens Go To Hell – Charlaine Harris: The first short story in Must Love Hellhounds. Charlaine Harris isn’t the first author I would normally pick up for a fantasy book; I wasn’t really impressed with the first book in the Sookie Stackhouse series and by the third book in the Harper Connelly series, one of the plot lines had become a little weird. But for a quick story that didn’t need five previous books to introduce the characters and their world, The Britingens Go To Hell was an alright read.


Leave a Reply

