Gallery

A couple of months of cupcakes

I’ve been a bit lax in my postings as of late. There seems to be things to do outside of the internet. Like baking cupcakes! So I will put a couple of my cupcake baking sessions in one post. And by a couple, I mean a lot. First up…

Easter weekend: Robin’s Egg Nest Treats™

Making the coconut green was fun. It turned a really great springtime green; a very happy colour. The problem I ran into was with my marshmallows to Rice Krispies ratio. I think I had too many Krispies or not enough marshmallows in my bag (ohh, that’s starting to sound like a bad mental capacity joke). And the mixture started to set quickly in the bowl. When I was getting to the last couple of cupcakes, there wasn’t much elasticity in the marshmallow and I was crushing the Krispies to dust trying to get them into a shallow bowl shape. Yet they were very yummy. Even though trying to eat them while keeping the eggs on top was a bit of a challenge.

Easter weekend cupcake #2: Cadbury Creme Egg Cupcakes

These were very tasty. But next time I will double the batter recipe so the inner egg has more cake to sit on while the cakes bake. This batch’s eggs melted and stuck to the bottom of the liners. What’s a bit of liner fiber between relative, eh?

Marieke’s Birthday Cupcakes: Cosmopolitan Cupcakes

Marieke wanted pink and boozed cupcakes. And I know she likes Cosmos so we tried this recipe. They turned out alright. Even though I used Triple Sec instead of Cointreau like the recipe said to use. Who knew that bottle wasn’t Cointreau?

This was the project that the Pampered Chef Easy Accent® Decorator was bought for. Such an awesome buy! Way better than the Ziploc bags I was using. Carrie & Brian’s Sophie was being Christened and I offered my baking to help them out with their after service munchies. And because I like to try different recipes, they got four kinds of cupcakes (instead of lots of just one kind). Big hugs to Katelyn who spent the day helping fill and decorate all the little cakes.

Sophie’s Christening, Cupcake #1: Boston Cream Pie Cupcakes

Boston Creams are probably my favourite flavour in the pastry family. Cupcake versions of them are pretty good too. The cake from this recipe site didn’t bake quite right. They came out really pale, looked undercooked, and they didn’t rise nicely like cupcakes should. So I doubled the Funfetti recipe below. The cakes from that recipe turned out much better. Golden mountains of cake. Much better. But I think next time I will make a whipped ganache to put on top instead of the thicker version that this recipe makes.

Sophie’s Christening, Cupcake #2: Carrot Cake Cupcakes

Nice, moist carrot cake. Piles of cream cheese frosting. So tasty! However, next time I will add raisins and walnuts into the batter. I didn’t do that for this batch because some people apparently don’t like those kinds of things in their baked goods (and there are allergies to be careful about when baking for large groups). *shrug* Maybe next time I will be making these for just me. And maybe my Dad.

Sophie’s Christening, Cupcake #3: Oreo Cupcakes

These were the first to disappear. So I guess they were edible. They had a different icing than the other cupcakes; it was whipped cream based compared to buttercream. Yet it may have been the bonus cookie with the cupcake that made these go so quickly.

Sophie’s Christening, Cupcake #4: Funfetti Cupcakes

This cake recipe is really good. I did find that the sprinkles muddied the colour of the cake to a funny green colour. I don’t think too many other people noticed that the cupcakes were kind of green. Or that they cared. Because the cupcakes tasted alright. And that’s what really counts, right?

Ken was having his birthday party the same day as Sophie’s Christening. But in the evening. So to add to the baking marathon that weekend, I made him cupcakes, as well as cupcakes for Christina (his wife), who’s birthday was earlier in the month. (Sadly, I didn’t get pictures of either of these cupcakes. You’ll just have to use your imagination.)

Ken’s Birthday Cupcakes: Cheesecake Cupcakes

Ken likes cheesecake. So I made cheesecake cupcakes with raspberry swirl. And when that ran out, Katelyn and I used blue berry pie filling. Very tasty cupcakes.

Christina’s Birthday Cupcakes: Chocolate Lover’s Cupcakes

These cupcakes started out badly. They didn’t rise properly. Instead of mounding nicely, they spread all over the top of the muffin pan so the tops were flat. And wide. And stuck to all the other cupcakes in the pan. And they looked ugly. Bad, ugly cupcakes, bad. But Katelyn saved them by cutting off their ugliness. Then we smothered them in icing and pretended that they turned out ok from the start.

Raspberry Cupcakes

I had left over frozen raspberries in the fridge from Ken’s cupcakes. So I decided I should use the rest of the bag in some cupcakes (because I didn’t want to refreeze the thawed bag. And the bag, sitting in a large bowl, was in the fridge taking up space). I used the Funfetti Cake recipe but without the sprinkles. Then I made this Raspberry filling to put into the cored cupcakes. And finally, I made a raspberry buttercream icing by making regular buttercream icing and adding some of the raspberry filling into it. Will definitely be making these again.

Bonfire Cupcakes #1: Chocolate Reese’s Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Because I learned from the Easter egg cupcakes (and I couldn’t find any cooking spray in the house I was house-sitting at) I put the Peanut Butter cup on a small scoop of batter instead of directly on the bottom of the liner. This method worked out quite well. I also think, next time, I will make a chocolate peanut butter icing. The cake is from this site and the chocolate frosting is from here.

Bonfire Cupcakes #2: Chocolate Rolo Cupcakes

These were because one of the people going to the bonfire doesn’t like peanut butter. Crazy, I know, but that just means there is more peanut butter stuff for the rest of us. I used the same cake recipe as the peanut butter ones, tossed in some mini Rolos and topped them with the same chocolate buttercream as the peanut butter ones. Then had a bit of caramel ice cream sauce drizzled on top. So the cupcakes wouldn’t be mixed up.

Chocolate Cherry Cupcakes

I had some fresh cherries that I didn’t think I should eat all by myself. And it was Father’s day. So there would be people around to eat cupcakes if I made the flavour that was bumping around in my head that day. The cupcakes were from this recipe and the icing is a buttercream with chopped cherries mixed in. I think next time I will either add the cherries to the cake batter or core the chocolate cupcakes and make a cherry filling.

Mini Funeral Cupcakes

These were for my Grandpa’s funeral. Baking keeps my hands busy so my mind doesn’t wander too far away. Which is good for times like these I guess. The cupcake recipe was a different chocolate cake than I had been using. I didn’t have everything it called for (like the chocolate extract). The icing was vanilla buttercream with dark chocolate shavings on top.

Leave a Reply

